top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethegaenplan

Things I'm Grateful To Lockdown For

Lockdown was undoubtedly a difficult period for most, but it has helped me in someways.

Credit: Matt Seymour via Unsplash

Leaving Germany and my Year Abroad suddenly did have a huge impact on me, my mental health and my plans (or lack of). Everything was unknown and everyone being stuck inside was an incredibly unusual experience. This naturally came with challenges, which I'm sure everyone felt from time to time, but I have to say it wasn't all bad.


I mean, firstly, I was grateful to be home with my family rather than in Germany alone. This was a totally crazy situation for everyone and I didn't want to go through it by myself in a different country! Yes, it was a whirlwind to get back quickly but I am lucky I did!


Another thing that I am grateful for is the fact that I actually got to celebrate my birthday on the day with family. I know in the grand scheme of everything (particularly during a global pandemic), birthdays are not the most important thing, but I was anticipating that I would've spent my birthday waking up early, heading to work then having an early night ready for the next early start. That would've been the case if I'd had my birthday on my year abroad. Instead, I could spend the day with my parents, enjoy a relaxing day and a delicious takeaway dinner. Sadly, it was the only really rainy day in April but we'll focus on the good for now.


Also, with the advent of Zoom calls and online workshops etc., I have had lots of opportunities to participate in events that I never would've considered before. One particular Zoom call really got me thinking and reconsidering my career options. I really enjoy writing blogs and articles but I've probably come too late in my academic career to get enough experience in the field to find a graduate job in journalism this time next year. But this call gave me tips on how to get into this field and gave me an insight into content creation or marketing as alternatives. Since then I have been writing lots of articles, completing online marketing courses and even did an online internship for three days, which I loved.


Another thing I'm proud of achieving in lockdown is being voted in as Lifestyle Editor at Wessex Scene, University of Southampton's Newspaper. If I hadn't have been at home, I never would've started writing more let alone consider being an editor. I have really enjoyed it so far and can't wait for the rest of this year!


Please don't think of this as a brag of a post! Lockdown has certainly not been easy for me and most days I have felt very unmotivated and lost. I haven't been exercising everyday or learning a new language or developing a new skill, which I have felt somewhat disappointed in myself about, but this was a weird situation that everyone adapted to differently. But in this unusual time, and now coming out of it, I thought I would reflect on the last few months and realise it's not all been doom and gloom. There has been a lot of light in what seemed a dark few months.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page