top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethegaenplan

Midi Dresses for May

I LOVE Midi Dresses! They are the perfect transitional piece for Spring into Summer.

This blog will show you my four most recent midi dress purchases, and how I like to wear them. Midi dresses are the only dresses I like to wear, as I am not that body confident about my legs, so I don't like to get them out and, because I am short-ish, maxi dresses drown me! So, midi dresses offer me the perfect in-between option and make me feel so good!


Dress 1: Green Belted Floral Dress from New Look



I saw this dress featured on the New Look Instagram and immediately loved it. I thought the colour was so bold but also so fresh. The white flowers with the small accents on peachy pink also help to soften the green colour to make it really flattering.


It has a mid length sleeve too, with elastic on the hem so it stays in place. I liked to have it slightly above the elbow so the sleeve settled nicely. You don't need to add a belt to this dress either, as it has its own matching tie belt. There is also a small leg slit on the left side, which runs from the bottom of dress at calf level to slightly above the knee. This detail adds movement and it helps the fit of the dress, so the skirt isn't too tight.


This dress was £16.19 when I bought it, but I used my student discount so it was a little less than normal! But I love everything about the dress: the fit, the colour, the print, plus the price was so good too!


Dress 2: Black and White Spot Dress from ASOS



This dress I actually wore for my lockdown birthday! It is a comfy soft jersey material, again with elasticated sleeves. This one has a hidden raglan type neckline, so the material is gathered around the neck and the sleeves start around the collarbone, rather than at the shoulder. It is also gathered around an elasticated waist so the skirt is floaty and almost pleated. I really like the pattern on this dress because the spots are not regularly spaced or sized so I think it adds a lot more interest.


I paired this dress with a white belt, to pick out the spots and lift the background colour. This belt I got off Amazon from a company called Sucre Belts. I chose this belt, because I thought the width would be perfect to divide up the dress and not to overwhelm it with white. I also thought the long rectangle buckle was a bit quirky and would add a nice contrast to the spots, which is why I didn't get a belt with a circle buckle. This belt was £4.99 on Prime.


When I bought this dress, it was £19.60, because of a promotion ASOS was running on dresses at the time. Its normal price is £28, which is still good, as this dress can be worn and worn for so many occasions.


Dress 3: Black Jersey and Poplin Dress from Stradivarius



This dress is so clever and I love it! I normally don't wear all black, I'm a print kinda girl (taking the rest of the dresses in this article as evidence), but this dress might have changed things. So, this dress has a jersey, t-shirt like material at the top, so it fits your body shape, and then a poplin skirt underneath, which keeps its own shape and structure. So, it fits in the right places!


With this dress, I wanted to add some colour to it with a belt. I found this one on ASOS, which I think goes perfectly. It has black details in it to tie in with the colour of the dress, but also it has hints of blue, yellow, orange, green and white, meaning you could pair it with shoes or a bag in any of these colours. Because of all the colours in this belt, this means it is very versatile and could go with other dresses or tops in these colours. This belt was on sale when I bought it, so sizes are very limited, but it was only £5 and I think it's great!


This dress I bought via ASOS for £17.99 and it is also available in a beige colour, but I knew this would wash me out, so I stuck with black. For the price, this dress is amazing! It is one of those throw on and go outfits, which you would be comfortable and fashionable in all day!


Dress 4: Blue Spotty Smock Dress from New Look



This dress I bought for Easter weekend, because the pastel colour reminded me of Easter eggs. I love the colour of this dress! For me it is really flattering, because I am quite pale-skinned and I have blue eyes so it tones really nicely.


If you follow New Look on any social media platforms, you would've seen the white version of this dress everywhere, which then made it impossible to get your hands on. Luckily for me, white actually washes me out and I wear a lot of monochrome clothing, so I wanted to branch out a bit and this dress gave me the ideal alternative.The smock dress style means it is floaty and light, which is perfect for the incoming summer temperatures! The sleeves are elasticated so they stay in place, but the waist isn't, so you can choose to wear it loose or, like me, choose to wear a belt to chinch in the waist and show your curves.


The belt I added is a New Look belt but I got it via ASOS in the sale. It was only £3.50! This belt is a perfect summer belt. It is a raffia stretch belt, which means it fits to your shape exactly and can be tightened as much as you like, without having to try and buckle it in one of the pre-made holes. And because it is made of raffia, not leather and metal, means it doesn't get uncomfortable or sweaty!


This dress was £19.49 when I bought it, again because of an offer on dresses at the time. I wear and wear this dress and I'm sure I will continue to do so for a while!


So, there are all my midi dresses and details on how I style them. I haven't included bag or shoe matches, because I am just wearing them around the house during lockdown! But each one of these outfits cost me around £20, which I think is great value for a dress and a belt. Keep an eye out for more midi dresses coming out online and maybe give one a whirl, if you haven't before!

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page