top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethegaenplan

My Travel Bucket List

This week, I was supposed to be in Italy with my boyfriend. This is a destination on my travel bucket list, which I thought I was going to tick off this year, but sadly, for obvious reasons, we could not go. So, I thought instead, I would write about my travel bucket list, seeing as Italy is on it, and share the places in the world that I want to visit someday.

Credit: Glenn Carstens-Peters via Unsplash

Italy

Our trip to Italy was planned as a multi city tour. We were going to visit Bologna, Florence and Pisa, spending a couple of days in each place. To be honest, we mainly wanted to go to Florence originally, but it is a lot cheaper to fly in and out of Bologna and Pisa, so we decided to take in three cities instead of just one. This way we could try a traditional bolognese in its origin city of Bologna, see the dome in Florence and take photos of us trying to hold up the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

I have wanted to go to Italy for a while, because I wanted to experience the Italian culture, language, scenery and, of course, the food and wine. Hopefully, in the future, I will get to go, and I suspect that I will end up going more than once, because it is such a huge country with so much to see, do and experience. From watching TV cooking shows, that travel through Italy, each area of the country is different and is famous for different things. I would love the chance to experience as many of these things as possible. The North, the South, the islands, the capital city: so many places to choose from!


Peru

This is my ultimate bucket list travel destination. For years, I have dreamed about climbing up to Machu Picchu, one of the new seven wonders of the world. The photos you see of it are breathtaking, so I can only imagine what it would be like if I saw it in real life.


I ideally want to do the 4-day trek and camping experience, but it depends how many years it is until I get there on whether I will be fit enough and will be able to adapt to the altitude. Otherwise, I can take a train, as part of a guided tourist group, which will lead to the same destination. We will have to wait and see, when I eventually make it there, whether I decide to trek or train. This is somewhere I have to go in my life, regardless of which way I get there, because it has been a dream of mine for so many years. I can't wait for the day I am finally on the plane to Peru.


USA

I visited Orlando, Florida nearly 15 years ago, when my family and I visited DisneyWorld. I would like to see more of the USA, especially since there are 50 states. The specific places I am sure I want to visit are New York and Los Angeles. I want to go to New York in the winter to shop for Christmas and visit all the sites, like the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State Building and Times Square. I would like to go to LA too to see the Hollywood sites and also travel up to San Francisco to see the cable cars and the hilly road you see in the movies.


I am also interested to visit other places, rather than the obvious cities and popular tourist sites. However, I will have to do a lot more research and find out where else I should go from other people experiences.


Australia

A dream place to go would be Australia. This is a very idealistic and dream destination, as it is so far from the UK and would involve a lot of planning, money and time. But in Australia, the benefit is there wouldn't be a language barrier with the majority of people and it is a huge country with so much to explore. They also have another one of the wonders of the world, the Great Barrier Reef. It would be incredible to go there and perhaps even snorkel, if I had the opportunity.


Russia

I would love to also visit St Petersburg, as the first place I would go to in Russia. Perhaps, I will visit more places in Russia in the future, but I would start in St Petersburg, since it is not that far from the UK, in terms of travel distance.


I would just really like to experience different culture and see the famous sites of St Petersburg, like the Church of the Saviour on Blood. It is such a famous style of architecture, similar to St Basil's Cathedral in Moscow.


India

I would also love to visit India one day. Recently, I was watching the Real Marigold Hotel with my Mum, which focuses on UK celebs visiting India as a possible retirement option. I mean, I am only 21, but seeing their experiences of India and all the places they visited made me really want to visit the country. After the last episode of the series, I sat researching trips to India, like how much it would cost, how long you should go for, where you should stay etc. It is definitely a country that is so beautiful and full of life and colour that I would feel like I am really missing out if I never experienced it myself.


I hope one day that my wanderlust will eventually become reality and that I can travel to these countries and experience the cultures and everything on offer in each place. Since going on my year abroad, I really want to travel more, because I got a taste of it and now I want more. I hope that in future I can complete my bucket list and visit even more places than those I have mentioned.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page